Skip to content

adaptive fa[CA]de

September 3, 2009

I won’t be using this blog anymore as I just launched my brand new Microhappy website. Enjoy!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2009 9:54 pm

    There is obviously a lot to know about this. There are some good points here. 🙂

    • marilenaskavara permalink*
      January 23, 2010 1:23 pm

      This field is partially explored indeed. Obviously, I find it highly interesting and exciting. Again, as I wrote to other comments, appologies for the delayed reply. Your comment was amongst a number of comments automatically put in the spam folder for some reason…

  2. October 9, 2009 5:29 pm

    Hey, I found your blog in a new directory of blogs. I dont know how your blog came up, must have been a typo, anyway cool blog, I bookmarked you. 🙂

    • marilenaskavara permalink*
      January 23, 2010 1:18 pm

      Hi there! I’m glad that you like my blog even though it’s a mystery how you found it.. 🙂
      Sorry for the delayed reply. Apparently some comments were automatically put in the spam folder without any prior notice and I just found out today.

  3. December 11, 2009 9:02 am

    Waow loved reading your blogpost. I submitted your feed to my reader.

    • marilenaskavara permalink*
      January 23, 2010 1:10 pm

      Hi there! Thanks a lot for your feedback. Sorry for the delayed reply, but I just found a number of comments which were automatically put into the spam folder…

  4. nuisikaa permalink
    January 23, 2010 1:51 am

    Hi..Marilena, I am really appreciate your project. I would like to ask a question about number of light sensor. How many do you use in order to control 28 panels.

    Cheers

    • marilenaskavara permalink*
      January 23, 2010 1:08 pm

      Hi there. Thanks a lot for your comment. My physical prototype, consisting of 25 panels, was not responsive to the current environment of the exhibition. It was a physical, kinetic representation of a highlighted area of the grid of the whole facade. The virtual model shown on the display next to my installation uses a set of 11 virtual sensors which take values depending on the various possible positions of the sun. Then, my optimised Neural Network generates a CA pattern which responds to the current conditions. My previous endeavour (posted under the post titled ‘CA facade’) was responsive to the environment and was using just one light sensor. If you have more questions on that, don’t hesitate to ask me.

      M

  5. Khairul Rizal permalink
    May 2, 2010 3:40 am

    Hey Marilena. This is an amazing work that you have done relating to Cellular Automa. May I know what program u use to simulate the overall facade patterns in your video?

    • marilena permalink*
      May 2, 2010 9:44 am

      Hi there. I used Processing 1.0 – an open source Java-based language – to both optimise and simulate my facade.

Leave a Reply

